Home / News

Names of the Inaugural Internet Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

The names of the inaugural Internet Hall of Fame inductees were announced today at the Internet Society’s Global INET 2012 conference in Geneva, Switzerland.

Internet pioneers and luminaries from around the world have gathered at the conference to mark the Internet Society’s 20th anniversary, and attend an Awards Gala to honor 2012 inductees:

Pioneers Circle – Recognizing individuals who were instrumental in the early design and development of the Internet: Paul Baran, Vint Cerf, Danny Cohen, Steve Crocker, Donald Davies, Elizabeth Feinler, Charles Herzfeld, Robert Kahn, Peter Kirstein, Leonard Kleinrock, John Klensin, Jon Postel, Louis Pouzin, and Lawrence Roberts.

Innovators – Recognizing individuals who made outstanding technological, commercial, or policy advances and helped to expand the Internet's reach: Mitchell Baker, Tim Berners-Lee, Robert Cailliau, Van Jacobson, Lawrence Landweber, Paul Mockapetris, Craig Newmark, Raymond Tomlinson, Linus Torvalds, and Philip Zimmermann.

Global Connectors – Recognizing individuals from around the world who have made significant contributions to the global growth and use of the Internet: Randy Bush, Kilnam Chon, Al Gore, Nancy Hafkin, Geoff Huston, Brewster Kahle, Daniel Karrenberg, Toru Takahashi, and Tan Tin Wee.

By CircleID Reporter – CircleID's internal staff reporting on news tips and developing stories. Do you have information the professional Internet community should be aware of? Contact us. Visit Page

CircleID Newsletter The Weekly Wrap

More and more professionals are choosing to publish critical posts on CircleID from all corners of the Internet industry. If you find it hard to keep up daily, consider subscribing to our weekly digest. We will provide you a convenient summary report once a week sent directly to your inbox. It's a quick and easy read.

I make a point of reading CircleID. There is no getting around the utility of knowing what thoughtful people are thinking and saying about our industry.

Co-designer of the TCP/IP Protocols & the Architecture of the Internet


Congratulations to all of the Internet Hall of Fame Inductees! By John Curran  –  Apr 24, 2012 7:20 am PDT

The Internet Society should also be commended for its inauguration of this important program to formally recognize those whose contributions have made the Internet a success.  As time moves on and the Internet becomes increasingly part of the everyday life, it's essential that we make time to record (and celebrate!) the contributions of these Internet pioneers.

Congratulations to all of the Internet Hall of Fame Inductees!

John Curran
President and CEO

i am especially happy to see so many familiar names from the asiapac make it By Suresh Ramasubramanian  –  Apr 24, 2012 10:56 am PDT

takahashi san, tin wee, geoff huston, randy bush ., the next apricot had better feature a panel woth them and other regulars!

Add Your Comments

 To post your comments, please login or create an account.



New TLDs

Sponsored byAfilias


Sponsored byThreat Intelligence Platform

DNS Security

Sponsored byAfilias

Brand Protection

Sponsored byAppdetex


Sponsored byVerisign

IP Addressing

Sponsored byIPv4.Global

Domain Names

Sponsored byVerisign


Sponsored byWhoisXML API